Newsletter 20th September 2013

 Screen Shot 2013-09-20 at 11.43.56

Reading.

Your child should be bringing their reading book to school every day; and taking it home every evening.

Reading is a very important part of your child’s education and crucial to them becoming successful in their learning. Therefore it is important that they read at home at least 3 times a week.

When your child reads to you can you please record it in their reading record:

The Lone Wolf    Pg 1 – 10     Read well.      KLH (mum).

Can you also record when your child has finished their book and it needs changing? Books are changed a minimum of twice a week.

Children are rewarded for reading regularly. In Foundation and KS1 children who have read 10 times visit the treasure box. In KS2 children earn their bronze, silver and gold bookmarks. When they get their gold bookmark they also receive a £5 voucher for W H Smith’s.

October 1st

I’m sure many of you have heard that some teaching unions are planning industrial action on Tuesday 1st October; but this does not effect pupils here so

THORNHILL PRIMARY SCHOOL WILL BE OPEN AS NORMAL ON TUESDAY 1st OCTOBER

 

Dates for your diary.

Harvest Festival – Wednesday 23rd October at 2pm.

Halloween Disco – Thursday 24th October at 3pm – 4.30pm.

Christmas Fayre – Friday 22nd November at 3pm – 4.30pm.

Christmas Performances

  • Tuesday 17th December – KS2 Performance at 1.30pm.
  • Wednesday 18th December – KS1 Performance at 1.30pm.
  • Thursday 19th December – Foundation Two at 9.15am.

Party day. – Friday 20th December.

 

School closes for October half term on Friday 25th October at the normal time and  we return on Monday 4th November.

   

 

Comments are closed.